#Darkthrone Frontman #Fenriz Accidentally Elected to Local Town Council

“My campaign was a picture of me holding my cat saying, ‘Please don’t vote for me.’ But people just went nuts.” Black metal figurehead Glyve “Fenriz” Nagell now has another job in addition to being one half of Darkthrone: he’s a backup representative for his local town council in Kolbotn, Norway. In a new interview with Clyrvnt, Fenriz discusses how he was involuntarily elected to his new political position. “Basically, they called and asked if I wanted to be on the list [of backup representatives]. I said yeah, thinking I would be like 18th on the list and I wouldn’t really have to do anything,” he said. “My campaign was a picture of me holding my cat saying, ‘Please don’t vote for me.’ But people just went nuts. After the election, the boss called me and told me I was a representative. I wasn’t too pleased, and I’m not too pleased about it. It’s boring. There’s not a lot of money in that, either, I can tell you!”

via pitchfork: Darkthrone Frontman Fenriz Accidentally Elected to Local Town Council

siehe auch: Black metal legend elected to Norwegian town council against his will. “My campaign was a picture of me holding my cat saying, ‘Please don’t vote for me.’” Norwegian extreme music legend Fenriz is getting ready to release Arctic Thunder, the new album from his foundational black metal band Darkthrone, but he’s hit an unexpected speed bump. After agreeing to join a “backup list” of potential candidates for the local neighborhood council in Kolbotn, a suburb of Oslo, he was unexpectedly elected.
“They called and asked if I wanted to be on the list [of backup representatives],” he explained. “I said yeah, thinking I would be like 18th on the list and I wouldn’t really have to do anything. They just need a list to be able to … well, it’s hard to talk local politics in another language.” Never underestimate the power of a cute cat, though. Fenriz jokingly shared a photo of himself holding his cat (whose name roughly translates to Peanut Butter) specifically asking people to not vote for him. Now he will be required to serve as Councilman Gylve Fenris Nagell for four years before stepping down is an option.

Leave a Reply

